Drunk driving is illegal in all states, and a DUI conviction brings with it several short and long-term legal consequences.
Some states, however, enforce DUI laws that are more stringent than usual. If you get arrested for a DUI in any of the following states, you will need to get the best DUI defense attorney available, because you wouldn’t want to suffer the consequences, which are often harsher.
In 49 states, the blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit is at .08 percent. Utah is the only exception, as the BAC limit there is now pegged at .05 percent, the lowest in the entire United States. That means it’s easier to get arrested for a DUI in Utah than anywhere else in the country.
Once convicted for a first offense, you are facing fines of at least $1,310, license suspension of 120 days, and a maximum 180 days in jail.
A DUI conviction in Oklahoma usually means 10 days to one year in jail and suspension of driver’s license for 180-days, plus fines of up to $1,000. Get arrested for another DUI within a 10-year period, and you will be facing felony charges, the penalties for which are much more severe.
Did you know that you can get a DUI in Kansas without actually driving? Even when you’re just “attempting to operate” a vehicle that isn’t moving, you can still be arrested for DUI if your BAC is over the limit.
A jail term of 48 hours to six months is typical for a first-time DUI conviction in Kansas. On top of a $750 to $1,000 fine, a DUI offender will also have to pay court costs and supervision fees. A 30-day driver’s license suspension is also par for the course.
The penalties for a first DUI in Georgia include 12 months probation, 10 days to 12 months in jail, and fines of $300 to $1,000. A 12-month driver’s license suspension is also in order, although paying a $200 reinstatement fee and completing a DUI education program can help you get your license back within 120 days.
The maximum jail time for a first DUI offense in Delaware is 12 months, which is no picnic by any stretch of the imagination. You may also have to pay fines and penalties of $500 to $1500. You will also be up for a 12 to 24-month license suspension, depending on your BAC at the time of your arrest. Get three DUIs within five years, and you will be charged with a felony.
A first DUI conviction in Nebraska will get you seven to 60 days in jail, a $500 fine, and a 90-day suspension of your driver’s license, that is, if your BAC was less than .15% at the time of your arrest. If it’s over that limit, your license will be suspended for a year.
Arizona has a reputation for having some of the strictest DUI laws overall. A first conviction for a standard DUI charge carries a jail sentence of 10 days to six months, as well as fines of at least $1,480.
However, if you were arrested with a BAC of at least .15%, you will be charged with Extreme DUI, a conviction for which means serving a mandatory 30 days in jail and paying a minimum fine of $2,500.
A BAC of at least .20%, meanwhile, will earn you a Super-Extreme DUI charge. You will serve a minimum of 45 consecutive days in jail upon conviction and pay a fine of at least $3,250.
License suspension for all three first-time charges will last for at least 90 days.
Whatever you do, never get arrested for drunk driving in the above states. Better yet, don’t drink and drive at all.